Due to COVID-19, the Florida Board of Massage Therapy made an emergency rule regarding continuing education to allow online courses to be used to meet the 12-hour hands-on technique requirement. Find out which ABMP courses are approved for the 2019–2021 renewal cycle.
Recent News and Legislative Updates
Illinois House Bill 0588 was signed into law this legislative session and requires massage establishments to post a human trafficking resource notice in bathrooms located within their businesses.
The Nebraska Administrative Code was updated and continuing education hours were amended. Previously, Nebraska massage therapists had to complete 24 hours of CE. The new rule only requires 16 hours of CE and is effective June 7, 2021.
House Bill No. 1263 passed this legislative session, and the included provisions require an amendment to the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy Rules and Regulations. You can submit commentary to the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy showing your support or opposition to the proposed rules no later than August 11, 2021.
The Washington State Department of Labor & Industries issued new guidance addressing how to verify employee vaccination status, how to protect unvaccinated staff, and when employees need to wear masks. Per the new guidance, individuals who work in the health-care industry, such as massage therapists, must continue to wear a mask while at work.
House Bill No. 6666 passed this legislative session and requires every business that employs a massage therapist to be under the management of a licensed massage therapist, hairdresser, cosmetician, esthetician, eyelash technician, or nail technician.
House Bill No. 531 passed this legislative session and amends multiple sections of the Louisiana Massage Practice Act, including scope of practice, continuing education, and renewal requirements. It also modifies the look of LA massage therapy license.
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation released a revised Massage Consultation Document for massage therapists. Use their checklist to make sure your current document is in compliance with the new requirements.
There is currently one seat open to a licensed massage therapist on the Arizona State Board of Massage Therapy, and Governor Ducey’s office is looking for qualified applicants. ABMP encourages interested and eligible members to consider applying for an appointment, as it’s a way to become more engaged in the profession. Find out how!
Senate Bill 599 passed this legislative session and requires massage therapy licensees to complete 12 hours of continuing education every biennial renewal, beginning July 1, 2024.