The Virginia bill discussed in our last update, Virginia HB 562, has become law. The new law changes Virginia's massage therapy regulation system from certification, also known as "title protection," to mandatory licensure.
Department of Health Professions
Virginia Board of Nursing
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours and MBLEx
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years
Min of 12 hours provided by NCBTMB provider
HB 562, introduced in the Virginia legislature this session, proposes to change Virginia's massage therapy regulation system from certification, also known as "title protection," to mandatory licensure. Under the current certification system, any person who claims to be a massage therapist, or uses any title or designation tending to imply that he or she is a massage therapist, must obtain the state massage therapy certification.
Our last Virginia Legislative Update discussed 2012 HB 543, which initially proposed a new mandatory state license requirement for Virginia massage therapists. The bill was substantially amended during the legislative process, and the final version of the bill made only minor changes to the existing law which did not include a mandatory licensing provision. The amended bill became law in April 2012, and is codified at