House Bill 1016 would have disbanded the Board of Massage Therapy under the Department of Health and created a new Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Massage Therapy, but HB 1016 died in the House.
Board of Massage Therapy
217 W Missouri Ave
Pierre, SD 57501
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirements: 500 hours and passing the MBLEx or NCBTMB; liability insurance required prior to licensure
Renewal: 8 hours/2 years
Governor Noem introduced House Bill 1016, which would consolidate the boards of massage therapy, cosmetology, and barbering into a new nine-person board from under the Department of Health. There is a hearing in the Commerce and Energy Committee on January 20, 2021, at 10:00 a.m (CDT). There will be a short opportunity for public comment.
The South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy is considering amendments to the massage therapy rules.
South Dakota HB 1027, discussed in our previous legislative update, has been signed into law. Again, one of the primary changes made by this new law is a tightening of the rules for licensure by endorsement, in that out-of-state licensees applying for a SD license now must show specifically that they have 500 hours of massage education or have practiced massage for the past two years. This provision succeeded despite ABMP’s oppo
South Dakota HB 1027, introduced this legislative session, would make several changes to South Dakota’s massage law if passed. ABMP submitted public comments during the bill’s drafting period which you can read here. One of the primary changes that would occur if the bill passes is a tightening of the rules for licensure by endorseme
- Removing the requirement that schools must be accredited by a US Department of Education recognized accrediting agency by July 1, 2014 in order to be recognized by the Board.
- Improving reciprocity/endorsement licensing requirements for those moving to South Dakota.