South Carolina adopted new rules that affect minimum massage therapy educational requirements, establishment and sole practitioner establishment operations, establishment licensing, and more.
Labor Licensing Regulation
South Carolina Massage/Bodywork Panel
110 Center View
PO Box 11329
Columbia, SC 29210
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours & NCETMB or MBLEx
Renewal: 12 hours/2 years
The South Carolina Panel for Massage/Bodywork proposed rules as a necessary step to implement the new requirements outlined in Senate Bill 227. Submit written comments support of, or in opposition to, the proposed rules no later than October 24, 2022.
Senate Bill 227 amends the massage therapy scope of practice, definitions, fees, license qualifications, and misconduct. The bill also adds the following new sections: public roster, licensure by endorsement, and establishment licensure.
Senate Bill 227 (SB 227) is essentially a cleanup bill, but also seeks to update licensing requirements, create establishment licensure, increase training hours, and modify fees. SB 227 is out of the Senate, but the South Carolina legislative session adjourned on May 13, 2021. SB 227 will not pass through the legislature this session, but will go through the House in 2022.
The South Carolina Massage/Bodywork Panel will be discussing the topic of massage establishment licensing at its regular meeting on August 10, from 9am-5pm, at Synergy Business Park, Kingstree Building, Conference Room 105, 110 Centerview Drive, Columbia, SC 29210. The state is considering legislation which would require that massage establishments hold a state license, in addition to the state licensure of individual therapists. Many states across the country either have enacted establishment licensure or are considering it, in an attempt to combat human trafficking.