The Board of Licensure for Massage Therapy published proposed rules that affect massage therapy fees and suggest adding two new sections to the fee schedule: license reinstatement and certificate of good standing fees.
Legislative and Policy Developments
Note: to view this feed by state, visit our State Licensing Requirements page and click on your state, then "View legislative updates" inside the informational pop-up.
The Indiana State Board of Massage Therapy's rules will be effective July 13, 2022. This means all Indiana massage therapists must be licensed by January 11, 2023. Those currently certified will automatically become licensed. Those not certified will have six months to apply for licensure.
There are currently two vacant seats on the Indiana State Board of Massage Therapy: one for an Indiana state-certified massage therapist and one for a public member. Contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org and we will supply you with the contact information you need to apply.
The Alabama Board of Massage Therapy announced proposed rule amendments that affect the fee schedule and establishment licensure. Written comments are due by August 4, 2022.
Senate Bill 37 alters the educational requirements for licensure or registration as a massage therapist, creating just one license: an LMT license that has an educational hour requirement of 750 hours.
House Bill No. 240 creates a provisional license for any graduate of a massage therapy school, allowing them to work while they wait for their licensure application to be approved. Senate Bill No. 286 allows educational hours above 500 to be taught either in person or via distance learning.
Senate Bill 227 amends the massage therapy scope of practice, definitions, fees, license qualifications, and misconduct. The bill also adds the following new sections: public roster, licensure by endorsement, and establishment licensure.
The bill will make it easier for massage therapists with 625 hours of education to move to and from other jurisdictions once at least seven or more states approve the proposed bill language. Participate in a Zoom meeting on July 6, 2022, or August 11, 2022, to learn more about the interstate compact.
House File 2168 adds massage therapists to the list of persons required to report child and dependent adult abuse and will now be required to complete training on this subject as a condition of licensure effective July 1, 2022.
Governor Ducey signed into law House Bill 2438, which requires massage therapists to undergo a more thorough criminal background check before receiving a license. This new requirement will affect applications and license renewals after January 1, 2023.