Massage Therapy Advisory Board
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
PO Box 12157
Austin, Texas 78711
Phone: 512-463-6599
Fax: 512-463-9468
Email: advisory.boards@tdlr.texas.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours and passing the MBLEx
Renewal: 12 hours/2 years

Regulation Type: 
State License


On June 17th, Governor Rick Perry signed House Bill 2644, which amended the Texas Massage Therapy law. Effective September 1, 2007, candidates for licensure must now have completed a training program of at least 500 hours in length, consisting of the following:
  • 200 hours taught by a licensed massage therapy instructor and dedicated to the study of massage therapy techniques and theory and the practice of manipulation of soft tissue, with at least 125 hours dedicated to the study of Swedish massage therapy techniques;
  • 50 hours of anatomy;
  • 25 hours of physiology;


Subscribe to RSS - Texas