Under Maryland HB 208, which was recently signed into law by Governor Hogan, Maryland massage therapists no longer have to have their trade names preapproved by the State Board of Chiropractic and Massage Therapy Examiners.
Board of Massage Therapy Examiners
4201 Patterson Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21215-2299
Title: Licensed Massage Therapist or Registered Massage Practitioner
Licensed Massage Therapist: 750 hours and passing the MBLEx or NCBTMB
Registered Massage Practitioner: 600 hours and passing the MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years
- Requiring that all license and registration applicants submit to a criminal history records check as part of their application;
Maryland House Bill 818 and Senate Bill 915, both recently introduced in the state legislature, propose to increase the number of hours that an applicant for licensure must complete in a Board-approved massage program from 500 hours to 600 hours. The bills also would add kinesiology to the content areas that must be included in those 600 hours.
- The law creates the State Board of Chiropractic and Massage Therapy Examiners to replace the Board of Chiropractic Examiners and the Massage Therapy Advisory Committee. There will now be eleven members appointed to the board: six chiropractors, three massage therapists, and two consumer members.