Massage Therapy State Licensing Requirements

Massage therapists are licensed in 45 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands. Licensure is required in each state in which a massage therapist practices and must be renewed on a regular basis, with a majority of states requiring continuing education as a requirement for renewal. Massage therapists must practice within the scope of practice defined by these state licensure laws (massage therapy practice acts in most cases). The practice acts, rules and regulations, comprise the law governing massage therapy practice within a state. A summary of state regulations, along with a link to state websites, can be found by clicking on a state below.

Need to pass the MBLEx exam? Check out ABMP Exam Coach!

Download and print a copy of the Massage State Regulation Guide.

Are you a member of your state board? Let us know!

State License

View legislative updates

Board of Massage Therapy
2777 Zelda Road
Montgomery, AL 36106
Phone: 334-420-7233
Fax: 334-263-6115

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 650 hours and MBLEx or NCBTMB; liability insurance
Renewal: 16 hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Alaska Board of Massage Therapists
Juneau office:
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Phone: 907-465-2550
Fax: 907-465-2974
Anchorage office:
550 W Seventh Ave, Suite 1500, Anchorage, AK 99501-3567
Phone: 907-269-8160
Fax: 907-269-8156
Email:
BoardOfMassageTherapists@Alaska.Gov

> Website

Title: Massage Therapist
Requirement: 625 hours and MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: 16 hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

State Board of Massage Therapy
1740 W Adams, Suite 3401
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: 602-881-2304
Email: info@massageboard.az.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 700 hours, If graduated from a school outside of Arizona, must also pass either the MBLEx or the NCBTMB exam.

Renewal: 24 hours/2 years

 

State License

View legislative updates

Dept of Health
4815 W Markham Street, Slot #8
Little Rock, AR 72205
Phone: 501-683-1448
Fax: 501-682-5640
Email: adh.massage@arkansas.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist, Master Massage Therapist, Instructor
Requirement: 500 hours, pass either the MBLEx or NCBTMB and the Arkansas Massage Therapy Law examinations
Renewal: 18 hours/2 years

State Certification

View legislative updates

California Massage Therapy Council
One Capitol Mall, Suite 320
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: 916-669-5336
Fax: 916-669-5337
Email: info@camtc.org

> Website

Voluntary Certification
Title: Certified Massage Therapist
Requirement: Pass a CAMTC-approved competency assessment exam; requirement paused until 2027
Renewal: no CEU requirement/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Colorado Office of Massage Therapy Licensure
1560 Broadway, Suite 1350
Denver, CO 80202
Phone: 303-894-7800
Fax: 303-894-7764
Email: 
dora_massagetherapists@state.co.us

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirements: 500 hours, and MBLEX or NCBTMB; liability insurance
Renewal: no CEU requirement/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Department of Public Health
Massage Therapy Licensure
410 Capitol Ave, MS #12 APP
PO Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134
Phone: 860-509-7603
Fax: 860-707-1982 Email: dph.alliedhealth@ct.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 750 hours, and MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: 24 hours/4 years

State License

View legislative updates

Delaware Board of Massage & Bodywork
Cannon Building #203
861 Silver Lake Blvd
Dover, DE 19904
Phone: 302-744-4500
Fax: 302-739-2711
Email:
customerservice.dpr@delaware.gov

> Website

Title: CMT: 300 hours
LMT: 500 hours and pass the NCBTMB
License Requirement: 500 hours and MBLEx or NCETMB
License Renewal: 24 hours/2 years.
Certification Requirement: 300 supervised class hours
Certification Renewal: CMT and LMT: 24 CEU hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Department of Health
Health Regulation and Licensing Administration

Board of Massage Therapy
899 North Capitol St., NE
Washington, DC 20002
Phone: 877-672-2174 or 202-727-8471

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours and passing the MBLEx, NCBTMB, or NCCA
Renewal: 14 CEU hours/2 years
3 hours of ethics
6 hours hands-on

State License

View legislative updates

Board of Massage Therapy
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #C06
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Phone: 850-488-0595
Fax: 850-412-2681
Email: info@floridasmassagetherapy.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours and NCBTMB or MBLEx
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Board of Massage Therapy
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, GA 31217-3858
Phone: 404-424-9966
Fax: 866-888-1308
Email: PLB-Healthcare2@sos.ga.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours and passing the MBLEx or NCBTMB; liability insurance required prior to licensure
Renewal: 24 hours/2 year

State License

View legislative updates

Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs: Professional & Vocational Licensing Division
State Board of Massage
335 Merchant St.
Room 301
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: 808-586-3000
Email: massage@dcca.hawaii.gov
> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 570 hours and a written exam administered by the state. Apprenticeship permits available.
Renewal: 12 CEU hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Board of Massage Therapy
11341 W Chinden Blvd.
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0063
Phone: 208-334-3233
Fax: 208-334-3945
Email: MAS@dopl.idaho.gov

Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours and passing the MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: 0 CEU hours per year effective July 1, 2024

State License

View legislative updates

Department of Financial & Professional Regulation
Chicago Office:
555 West Monroe St., 5th Floor
Chicago, IL 60661                      

Springfield Office:
320 West Washington St., 3rd Floor
Springfield, IL 62786

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 600 hours and passing the MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: 25 hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Professional Licensing Agency
Attn: State Board of Massage Therapy
402 W Washington St, Room W072
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: 317-232-2960
Fax: 317-233-4236
Email: pla14@pla.in.gov

> Website

Title: Certified Massage Therapist
Requirements: 625 hours, MBLEx or NCBTMB; liability insurance
Renewal: 24 CEU hours/4 years

State License

View legislative updates

Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing
6200 Park Avenue, Suite 100
Des Moines, IA 50321
Phone: 515-281-7689
Fax: 515-281-3121
Email: PLPublic@idph.iowa.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 600 hours, and MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: 16 CEU hours/2 years
Min 8 hours hands-on

No State Regulation

View legislative updates

There is no state regulation. Contact your City Clerk to find local requirements.

State License

View legislative updates

Board of Licensure for Massage Therapy
PO Box 1360
Frankfort, KY 40602
Phone: 502-782-8808
Fax: 502-564-4818
Email: mt@ky.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 600 hours, and NCBTMB or MBLEx
Renewal: 12 CEU hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Board of Massage Therapy
9619 Interline Ave
Suite B
Baton Rouge, LA 70809

Phone: 225-756-3488
Fax: 225-925-7834
Email: admin@lsbmt.org

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours, and MBLEx
Renewal: 12 hours/1 year

State License

View legislative updates

Dept of Professional & Financial Regulation
Massage Therapy Licensure
35 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
Phone: 207-624-8624
Fax: 207-624-8637
Email:
massage.therapy@maine.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours, or MBLEx or NCBTMB (passage of exam is an alternative to education)
Renewal: no CEU requirement/1 year

State License

View legislative updates

Board of Massage Therapy Examiners
4201 Patterson Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21215-2299
Phone: 410-764-4738
Fax: 410-358-1879

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist or Registered Massage Practitioner
Licensed Massage Therapist: 750 hours and passing the MBLEx or NCBTMB
Registered Massage Practitioner: 600 hours and passing the MBLEx or NCBTMB

Renewal: 24 hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Board of Registration of Massage Therapy
1000 Washington St, Suite 710
Boston, MA 02118-6100
Phone: 617-701-8630
Fax: 617-727-9932
Email: Massagetherapy@mass.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirements: 650 hours and passing the MBLEx or NCBTMB, Liability insurance required 
Renewal: No CE Requirement, Annual renewal on the 28th day of your birth month

State License

View legislative updates

Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
611 W Ottawa
PO Box 30670
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: 517-241-0199
Fax: 517-241-9416
Email: bplhelp@michigan.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: If enrolled prior to 8/1/17, 500 hours and MBLEx, NCETMB, or NCETM. If enrolled after 8/1/17, 625 hours and MBLEx, NCETMB, or NCETM.
Renewal: 18 hours/3 years, by October 31.

No State Regulation

View legislative updates

There is no state regulation. Contact your City Clerk to find local requirements.

State License

View legislative updates

State Board of Massage Therapy
353 S Fourth Street
PO Box 20
Morton, MS 39117
Phone: 601-732-6038
Fax: 601-732-6447
Email: director@msbmt.state.ms.us

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 700 hours and passing the Mississippi State Licensing Exam and either the MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years (12 hours each year)

State License

View legislative updates

Board of Therapeutic Massage
Massage Therapy Board
3605 MO Blvd
PO Box 1335
Jefferson City, MO 65109
Phone: 573-522-6277
Fax: 573-751-0735
massagether@pr.mo.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirements: 500 hours, and MBLEx or NCETMB; liability insurance
Renewal: 12 hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Board of Massage Therapy
PO Box 200513
Helena, MT 59620-0513
Phone: 406-444-6880
Fax: 406-841-2305
Email: Email: dlibsdhelp@mt.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours, and MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: Annual license renewal. 12 CEU hours must be completed every even-numbered renewal year.

State License

View legislative updates

Dept of Health & Human Services: Massage Therapy
Licensure Unit
301 Centennial Mall South
P.O. Box 94986
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986
Phone: 402-471-2117
Fax: 402-742-1106
Email:
DHHS.Licensure2117@nebraska.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 1000 hours, and NCBTMB or MBLEx
Renewal: 16 hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

State Board of Massage Therapy
1755 E Plumb Lane, Suite 252
Reno, NV 89502
Fax: 775-786-4264
Email: nvmassagebd@state.nv.us

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement:550 Hours MBLEX, NCETM, NCETMB, CESI, ITEC, ARCB, IIR, or NCBTMB-R
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years (12 hours each year)

State License

View legislative updates

Advisory Board of Massage Therapists
7 Eagle Square
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: 603-271-2152
Email:
OPLCLicensing6@oplc.nh.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Practitioner
Requirement: 750 hours, and NCBTMB or MBLEx
Renewal: 12 hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy
PO Box 45048
Newark, NJ 07101
Phone: 973-504-6520
Email:  MassageTherapy@dca.lps.state.nj.us

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage and Bodywork Therapist or Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours and passing the MBLEx or NCBTMB; liability insurance required prior to licensure
Renewal: 20 hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Massage Therapy Board
Toney Anaya Building, 2nd Floor
2550 Cerrillos Road
Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone: 505-476-4870
Fax: 505-476-4665
Email: massage.board@rld.nm.gov
You must enclose a stamped, self-addressed, #10 envelope when requesting a copy of regulations.

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 650 hours and NCBTMB or MBLEx
Renewal: 16 hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Office of the Professions: Massage Therapy
89 Washington Ave
Albany, NY 12234-1000
Phone: 518-474-3817, Press 1, then ext. 570
Fax: 518-474-1449
Note: Massage category is #27.
Online contact form

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 1000 hours and state exam
Renewal: 36 hours/3 years

State License
State License

View legislative updates

Board of Massage & Bodywork Therapy
4140 Parklake Ave, Suite 100
Raleigh, NC 27612
Phone: 919-546-0050
Fax: 919-833-1059
Email: Email: info@bmbt.org

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage and Bodywork Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours and MBLEx, NCBTMB
Renewal: 24 hours/2years or 12 hours/2 years if licensed more than 1 year but less than 2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Board of Massage Therapy
PO Box 3141
Bismarck, ND 58502-3141
Phone: 701-712-8624
Fax: 701-224-9824
Email: ndbmt@aptnd.com

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 750 hours and passing the MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years for those practicing up to 14 years; 6 hours/2 years for those practicing 15-24 years; 3 hours/2 years for those practicing over 24 years.

State License

View legislative updates

State Medical Board
Massage Licensing Division
30 East Broad Street, 3rd Floor
Columbus, OH 43215-6127
Phone: 614-466-3934
Fax: 614-728-5946
Email: contact@med.ohio.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 600 hours and passing the MBLEx

State License

View legislative updates

State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
2401 NW 23rd, Suite 84
Shepherd Center (Main Entrance F)
Testing Center Door 62
Oklahoma City, OK 73107
Phone: 405-521-2441
Fax: 405-521-2440

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirements: 500 hours and passing the MBLEx; liability insurance required prior to licensure
Renewal: 5 CEU hours/1 or 10 CEU hours/2 based on current license

State License

View legislative updates

State Board of Massage Therapists
610 Hawthorne Ave SE, Suite 220
Salem, OR 97301
Phone: 503-365-8657
Fax: 503-385-4465
Email: obmt.info@state.or.us

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 625 hours, and MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: 25 hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

State Board of Massage Therapy
PO Box 2649
Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649
Phone: 717-783-7155
Fax: 717-787-7769
Email: ra-massagetherapy@pa.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 600 hours and passing the MBLEx
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Puerto Rico Board of Examiners of Massage Therapists
Junta Examinadora de Especialistas en Belleza
Centro Médico Norte
Calle Periferial Interior
Bo. Monacillos Río Piedras, PR
Phone: 787-765-2929
Email: contactus@salud.pr.gov

> Website
click on: Juntas Examinadoras Adscritas al Departamento


Title Massage Therapist
Requirements: 1,000 hours and passing the MBLEx; liability insurance required prior to licensure
Renewal: License renewal due every three years

State License

View legislative updates

Dept of Health 
Massage Therapy
"3 Capitol Hill, Room 104
Providence, RI 02908-5097
Phone: 401-222-2828
Fax: 401-222-1272
Email: doh.elicense@health.ri.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours and passing the MBLEx
Renewal: 6 hours/1 year

State License

View legislative updates

Board of Massage Therapy
110 Center View
Columbia, SC 29210
Phone: 803-896-4588
Fax: 803-896-4484
Email: BoardInfo@llr.sc.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 650 hours and passing the MBLEx
Renewal: 12 hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Board of Massage Therapy
217 W Missouri Ave
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: 605-773-3440
Fax: 605-773-7175
E-mail: massagetherapy@state.sd.us

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirements: 500 hours and passing the MBLEx or NCBTMB; liability insurance required prior to licensure
Renewal: 8 hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Dept of Health
Board of Massage Licensure

665 Mainstream Drive, 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: 615-253-2111
Fax: 615-532-5164
Email: Massage.Health@tn.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours and passing the MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years

Reflexology Registry

State License

View legislative updates

Massage Therapy Advisory Board
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
PO Box 12157
Austin, Texas 78711
Phone: 512-463-6599
Fax: 512-463-9468
Email: advisory.boards@tdlr.texas.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours and passing the MBLEx
Renewal: 12 hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Division of Professional Licensing: Massage Therapy
Board of Massage
160 East 300 South
PO Box 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741
Phone: 801-530-6628
Fax: 801-530-6511
Email: b2@utah.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 600 hours and NCBTMB or MBLEx
Renewal: no CEU requirement/2 years
Title: Massage Assistant
Requirement: 300 hours and an exam determined by the Utah Division of Professional Licensing
Title: Massage Assistant-in-training
Requirement: Massage therapist supervision for six months

Licensure Passed

View legislative updates

Office of Professional Regulation
Massage Therapists, Bodyworkers and Touch Professionals
128 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633
Phone: 802-828-1505
Fax: 802-828-2465

> Website

Title: Registered Massage Therapist, Registered Bodyworker, or Registered Touch Professional
Requirement: Massage therapists, bodyworkers, and touch professionals are required to submit an application. This includes energy workers.
Renewal: 2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Virgin Islands Department of Health
St. Croix Office
Charles Harwood Complex
3500 Est. Richmond
Christiansted, VI 00820
Phone: 340-773-1311, ext 3047

Title Massage Therapist
Requirements: MBLEX
Renewal: 3 hours CEU in HIV/STD/AIDS

State License

View legislative updates

Department of Health Professions
Virginia Board of Nursing
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463
Phone: 804-367-4614
Fax: 804-527-4455
Email:
massagetherapy@dhp.virginia.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours and MBLEx
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Dept of Health: Massage Therapist
PO Box 47877
Olympia, WA 98504-7877
Phone: 360-236-4700
Fax: 360-236-4818
Email: hpqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 625 hours and passing the MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Massage Therapy Licensure Board
Peoples Building
179 Summers Street, Suite 711
Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: 304-558-1060
Fax: 304-558-1061
Email: linda_lyter@frontier.com

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 500 hours and MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years

State License

View legislative updates

Dept of Safety & Professional Services:
Massage Therapist or Bodywork Therapist

4822 Madison Yards Way
Madison, WI 53705
Phone: 608-266-2112
Fax: 608-251-3036
Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirements: 600 hours and passing the MBLEx, NCBTMB, or NCCAOM; liability insurance required prior to licensure
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years

No State Regulation

View legislative updates

There is no state regulation. Contact your City Clerk to find local requirements.

News

Washington Massage Board Vacancies

The State Department of Health and the Washington Massage Board are seeking licensed massage therapists to fill professional member vacancies. Apply before the June 30 deadline.

Maryland Bills Add Instruments, License Requirements, Practice Violations

In May, Governor Wes Moore signed into law two bills affecting massage therapy. House Bill 1497 allows instrument-assisted techniques, amends the license reinstatement process, and adds a new requirement for some licensure applicants. House Bill 1498 addresses unauthorized practice violations.

Blog

Julie Plachta: Serving the Underserved

Woman massages a client who is lying facedown on a massage table.

As we get closer to celebrating Massage Is for EveryBody, July 14–20, 2024, we wanted to share more of Julie Plachta’s story, which exemplifies the inclusive values of this campaign.

Benefits

Featured ABMP Discount Partner: MemberDeals

MemberDeals provides ABMP members unique access to exclusive offers on the world’s greatest entertainment and travel brands, including Walt Disney World Resort and Cirque du Soleil.

Please note: We have recently updated our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. Learn more...