Skip to main content

Rhode Island Raises Education Hours and CE Requirements


Governor Daniel McKee signed into law House Bill 7738 and Senate Bill 2625 in late June, increasing minimum education hours and continuing education requirements.

Effective January 1, 2025, individuals applying for their first massage therapy license must complete an approved massage therapy program of at least 800 hours—an increase from the previous law, which required a minimum of 650 hours. Education must be supervised in-class, hands-on coursework and clinical work.

An application for first-time licensure with 650 hours of massage therapy education will be accepted through December 31, 2024.

The Rhode Island State Board of Licensed Massage Therapists will require 24 continuing education units (CEUs) every two years upon license renewal. Previously, massage therapists needed to complete six CEUs annually.

Bill Effective Date: June 26, 2024