Oregon

State Board of Massage Therapists
610 Hawthorne Ave SE, Suite 220
Salem, OR 97301
Phone: 503-365-8657
Fax: 503-385-4465
Email: obmt.info@state.or.us

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirement: 625 hours, and MBLEx or NCETMB
Renewal: 25 hours/2 years
1 hr CE: pain management
1 hr CE: cultural competency
15 contact hours required
(can include online if interactive)

Regulation Type: 
State License

New Oregon CE Rules

Changes to Oregon Continuing Education Rules

The Oregon Board of Massage Therapists recently adopted changes to the state’s continuing education (CE) rules.  These changes go into effect on July 1, 2016. All licensees renewing their licenses on or after July 1, 2016, must have fulfilled these CE requirements when they renew, unless they are renewing their license for the first time. 

Oregon Bill Regulating Bodywork and Increasing Entry Level Education Standards Signed into Law

Oregon SB 298, discussed in our previous Legislative Update, was signed into law by Governor Brown on June 18, 2015, with certain important changes over the original version of the bill. 

In general, the new law regulates massage and bodywork practitioners in same manner as current law with a few changes; changes which should have little effect on current Oregon licensees. The new law goes into effect January 1, 2016.

Oregon Bill Proposes Increasing Entry Level Education Standards and the Regulation of Bodywork

A new bill, Oregon SB 298, has been introduced in the Oregon Senate that proposes to regulate bodywork practitioners in same manner that Oregon law currently regulates massage therapists. Under the bill, those practicing bodywork would be required to obtain a state license, just as massage practitioners are currently required to do. “Bodywork” is defined in the bill as: “any form of touch therapy that uses manipulation, movement, energy or repatterning to produce structural and functional c

OR Bill to Regulate Massage Facilities Favorably Amended

If passed, Senate Bill 387 would require that “massage facilities,” meaning any “facility where a person engages in the practice of massage,” obtain a massage facility permit from the Oregon Board of Massage Therapists in order to operate. This requirement would not apply to licensed massage schools or to individual massage therapists working out of their homes.

Oregon Bill Would Require Permit for Operation of Massage Facilities

Oregon Senate Bill 387 was recently introduced in the state legislature. If passed, the bill would require that all “massage facilities,” meaning any “facility where a person engages in the practice of massage,” must obtain a massage facility permit from the Oregon Board of Massage Therapists in order to operate. This requirement would not apply to licensed massage schools or to individual massage therapists working out of their homes.

Oregon Exempts Certain Practitioners from Massage Licensing

SB 454 was signed by Governor Kitzhaber on 5/16/2011. The law exempts individuals who are practicing energy work or movement education from massage therapy licensing provided that the individual's services are not designated or implied to be massage or massage therapy and he or she is “certified by a professional organization or credentialing agency.” The State Board of Massage Therapists has the authority to verify that a practitioner claiming to be exempt is “certified” as required.

ABMP Opposes NCBTMB Oregon Amendment Proposal

HB 2059 is currently moving through the Oregon State Legislature. The bill amends and creates new provisions for health regulatory boards, including the Oregon Board of Massage Therapy (OBMT). This seemingly innocuous bill turned much less so on Tuesday, May 12, 2009, when the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) proposed an amendment that would require the OBMT to accept their national certification exams. The amendment (HB 2059-A7) reads as follows:

Oregon

The Oregon Board of Massage Therapy is now requiring the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Exam (MBLEx) offered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB: www.fsmtb.org) as a qualification for licensure. A rules hearing will be held on August 22, 2008 at 9 a.m. by the Oregon Board of Massage Therapists, 748 Hawthorne Avenue NE, Salem OR 97306

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Oregon