Arkansas

Dept of Health
4815 W Markham Street, Slot #8
Little Rock, AR 72205
Phone: 501-683-1448
Fax: 501-682-5640
Email: adh.massage@arkansas.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist, Master Massage Therapist, Instructor
Requirement: 500 hrs, and MBLEx or NCBTMB. Additional requirements for Master and Instructor.
Renewal: 18 hours/2 years
Max 6 hours online CE

Regulation Type: 
State License

New Arkansas Bill Would Transfer Massage Regulation to State Health Board

AR S 145 was recently introduced in the Arkansas state legislature.  The bill proposes to amend the Arkansas massage therapy law by abolishing the State Board of Massage Therapy and transferring all of the Board’s powers, duties, and functions, including rulemaking, licensing, and adjudications, to the Arkansas State Board of Health.  We will keep you informed of important developments on this bill.

Arkansas Bills Would Exempt Bowen Technique from State License Requirement

Two new bills introduced in the Arkansas legislature, HB 1562 and HB 1589, seek to exempt practitioners of Bowen therapy and Bowen techniques from the state’s massage licensure requirement.  Under these bills, Bowen practitioners would not be required to hold a state massage license to practice in Arkansas as long as they are certified by a professional or credentialing agency which (1) requires a minimum level of training, demonstr

Arkansas Board Appointed

Governor Beebe has appointed members to the Arkansas State Board of Massage Therapy. The board, named below, is charged with the responsibility of implementing the law. Gregg Benefiel, Mountain View. Lisa Douglas, Forrest City. Audra Findley, Russellville. Naomi Hall, Little Rock. Faye Weeks, Rudy. Susie Williams, Little Rock. Mary Kay Wurm, Hot Springs.

Arkansas Changes Massage Law

HB 1951 was signed into law by Governor Beebe on April 13, 2009. The bill amends the existing massage therapy law and seats new board members to the Arkansas State Board of Massage Therapy to oversee implementation. Two changes to the scope of practice of massage therapists should be noted:
  1. Massage of the anus or genital area of another person is prohibited by law and will result in the board revoking the massage therapist’s license to practice, and

Arkansas

Beginning July 1, 2008, the Arkansas State Board of Massage Therapy requires the passage of the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Exam (MBLEx) offered by Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB: www.fsmtb.org), to qualify for licensure. The MBLEx replaces the state licensing examination.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Arkansas