Back to School—Student Clinic: Client Pre-Session Interaction

Pre-Session Protocols Checklist

More than ever, protecting yourself and your clients starts before they arrive for an appointment. Add information to your health intake forms, review your pre-screening call process, and put a hold on accepting walk-in clients.

Health-Intake Updates

  • Include COVID-19-related questions on your Health Intake form:
    • Have you had a fever in the last 24 hours of 100°F or above?
    • Do you now, or have you recently had, any respiratory or flu symptoms, sore throat, or shortness of breath?
    • Have you been in contact with anyone in the last 14 days who has been diagnosed with COVID-19 or has coronavirus-type symptoms?
  • Include informed client consent language about the risk of infection on your Health Intake form.
    • Sample language:

      I understand that, because massage therapy work involves maintained touch and close physical proximity over an extended period of time, there may be an elevated risk of disease transmission, including COVID-19. By signing this form, I acknowledge that I am aware of the risks involved and give consent to receive massage and bodywork from this practitioner.
       
  • Consider an online health intake process. Have clients fill out their forms and return them to you before the appointment; use the pre-screening call to remind the client if forms have not been returned.

Prescreening Call

Questions to ask a client in your day-before reminder/screening call:

  • Take a minute to explain any new protocols as necessary, including the client’s wearing of masks as they arrive for their appointments. Does the client have a mask they can wear? Let them know you can provide a mask and describe to them how you want them to use it during their visit: have the mask on when entering the premises; together, you will evaluate their breathing comfort during the prone positioning portion of their massage session. The mask protocol is consistent with the CDC’s recommendation to the general public advising them to wear a cloth face covering whenever they must leave their home.
  • Have you had a fever in the last 24 hours of 100°F or above?
  • Do you now, or have you recently had, any respiratory or flu symptoms, sore throat, or shortness of breath?
  • Have you been in contact with anyone in the last 14 days who has been diagnosed with COVID-19 or has coronavirus-type symptoms?
  • If yes on any, reschedule without penalty.
  • Explain your revised Cancellation Policy and that there is no penalty if they wake up with cold or flu symptoms and need to cancel on day of, but to still notify you as soon as possible.

News

Iowa Adopts Mandatory Reporter Training

The Iowa Board of Massage Therapy adopted new rules that require massage therapists who treat children and dependent adults to complete mandatory reporter training.

Oklahoma Adopts Emergency New Rules Affecting Criminal History

The Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering has adopted rules that identify a list of crimes that will disqualify a person from being licensed as a massage therapist. The crime(s) or criminal charge(s) has to be largely related to the practice of massage therapy and pose a sufficient threat to public safety, health, or welfare. The rules became effective January 16, 2023.

Washington Introduces Massage Compact Bill

The Washington legislature introduced House Bill 1437, the Massage Compact, in January 2023. The bill will make it easier for licensed massage therapists to work in other jurisdictions. If you believe an interstate license would benefit massage therapists, write a letter to your representatives.

Blog

Benefits

Please note: We have recently updated our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. Learn more...