Wisconsin

Dept of Safety & Professional Services:
Massage Therapist or Bodywork Therapist

4822 Madison Yards Way
Madison, WI 53705
Phone: 608-266-2112
Fax: 608-251-3036
Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage Therapist
Requirements: 600 hours and NCETMB or MBLEx; liability insurance
Renewal: 24 hours/2 years

Regulation Type: 
State License

Wisconsin Governor Signs Law Requiring Massage Therapists and Bodyworkers to Become State Licensed

Under the current law, a person who is not certified as a massage therapist or bodyworker by the Department of Regulation and Licensing may not designate himself/herself as a massage therapist or bodyworker. The passage of AB 588 will make it mandatory for massage and bodywork therapists to be licensed by the state in order to practice, essentially changing the law from title protection to a mandatory practice act.

Wisconsin Committee Passes Bill

AB 588 was passed favorably out of the Assembly Committee on Health and Healthcare Reform with two small changes.
  • The Examining Board was changed to an Affiliated Credentialing Board. A credentialing board has similar responsibilities to an examining board. Members are appointed by the governor and subject to senate confirmation, they would have authority to issue administrative rules interpreting the licensing law, and they would have authority to investigate complaints and discipline licensees.

Wisconsin Considers Amending the Regulation of Massage Therapists and Bodyworkers

Assembly bill 588, sponsored by Representative Berceau, would make a number of changes to the regulation of massage and bodywork therapists. Under current law, a person who is not certified as a massage therapist or bodyworker by the Department of Regulations and Licensing may not designate himself/herself as a massage therapist or bodyworker. AB 588 would make it mandatory for massage and bodywork therapists to be licensed by the state in order to practice.

Wisconsin

Please Note Changes to Wisconsin State Certification Program for Massage and Bodywork Therapists The Department of Regulation and Licensing has amended administrative rules for state certification as a massage therapist or bodyworker and has changed the requirements for renewal of certification. The next renewal deadline is March 1, 2009. As of September 1, 2008:

Wisconsin

Wisconsin 2007 Legislative Survey Results and Next Steps for ABMP Members In July 2007, at the request of the American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA)—Wisconsin Chapter, ABMP mailed a short legislative survey to Wisconsin members. The intent of the survey was to gauge the massage therapy community’s interest in pursuing state licensure. The current law offers state certification with title protection only.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Wisconsin