Delaware

Delaware Board of Massage & Bodywork
Cannon Building #203
861 Silver Lake Blvd
Dover, DE 19904
Phone: 302-744-4500
Fax: 302-739-2711
Email: customerservice.dpr@delaware.gov

> Website

Title: Licensed Massage and Bodywork Therapist, or Certified Massage and Bodywork Therapist
License Requirement: 500 hours and NCETMB
License Renewal: 24 hours/2 years.
Certification Requirement: 300 supervised class hours
Certification Renewal: 24 hours/2 years.

Regulation Type: 
State License

Contact Your Legislators Regarding Delaware Massage Establishment Licensing Bill

ABMP emailed the following message to its Delaware members on May 5, 2017:

As discussed in our earlier email to you, Delaware House Bill 35 has been introduced in the state legislature as a proposal to require massage establishment licensing in the state. The bill would require massage businesses to hold a separate massage establishment license in addition to a general business license, and in addition to individual licensure for the therapists working in the business. 

Delaware Bill Proposes Massage Establishment Licensing

Delaware House Bill 35 has been introduced in the state legislature as a proposal to require massage establishment licensing in the state. If the bill passes in its current form, massage businesses would be required to hold a separate massage establishment license in addition to a general business license, and in addition to individual licensure for the therapists working in the business.

Delaware HB 463 Vetoed by Governor Markell

The Board of Massage and Bodywork currently issues licenses to massage and bodywork therapists and certificates to massage technicians. Delaware is the only state to have this two-tier system. Licensed therapists are required to complete at least 500 hours of education and pass a certification examination. Massage technicians are required to complete 300 hours of education and are not required to take an examination.

Delaware Bill Would Eliminate Certified Technician Tier

Delaware Governor Jack Markell is considering House Bill 463, a bill passed by the General Assembly and based on recommendations made by a committee of legislators, Joint Sunset Committee, and on the advice of the Board of Massage and Bodywork. HB 463 would phase out the two-tier licensure structure in Delaware. Sunset is the periodic legislative review of agencies, commissions or boards. The purpose of the review is to determine whether or not there is a genuine public need for the agency and, if so, determine if the agency is effectively performing to meet that need.

Delaware

The Delaware Board of Massage and Bodywork recently met and adopted changes to the rules governing massage and bodywork licensing. The new rules provide for online licensure renewal, allow half of continuing education requirements to be fulfilled online, and clarify the categorical restrictions on continuing education. ABMP provided comments but unfortunately, the board adopted the rules as written because renewal notices had to be sent.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Delaware