Kansas House Bill 2400 has been introduced in the Kansas legislature and would require statewide licensure for massage therapists. The bill would go into effect at the end of the 2021 legislative cycle. Massage therapists could apply for licensure through grandfathering or an application process.
Recent News and Legislative Updates
Senate File 1074 and House File 1275 have been introduced in the Minnesota legislature and would require statewide licensure for massage therapists and Asian bodywork therapists.
Hawaii HB 223 and SB 599 would require 12 hours of continuing education credits for each biennial renewal period beginning July 1, 2022. Two of the 12 hours would need to be “first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, or emergency related courses.”
The Pennsylvania State Board of Massage Therapy (the Board) is seeking three licensed massage therapists to serve a four-year term on the Board. Apply today!
The Alaska Board of Massage Therapists has proposed new massage therapy rules that would impact licensure by credentials, continuing education requirements, and massage therapy establishments. Submit your commentary on the proposed changes no later than March 12, 2021.
Senate Bill 750 and House Bill 1652 have been introduced in Oklahoma this legislative session. The ways in which these bills will impact massage therapists include establishment licensing, fee increases, grandfathering, and more.
Mississippi House Bill 1315 (HB 1315) was introduced January 28, 2021. In the House committee held February 3, 2021, HB 1315 was amended to deregulate massage therapy. ABMP is opposed to this bill and we encourage you to send a letter to voice your opinion.
House Bill 79 (HB 79) was introduced in Kentucky this session. HB 79 amends various sections of the massage practice act, including establishment licensing and continuing education.
Mississippi Senate Bill 2751 would add establishment registration requirements to the Massage Practice Act. All licensed massage therapists would be required to register their business with the state.
South Carolina House Bill 3561 and Senate Bill 227 have been introduced in the 2021 legislative cycle. Both bills would create establishment licensure and update licensing requirements in South Carolina.