Find out how often and how much your license renewal fee will cost you, and the circumstances under which a licensee may receive disciplinary action.
Recent News and Legislative Updates
Due to Hurricane Idalia’s devastating impact, license renewal deadlines have been pushed back for some professionals, including massage therapists and their businesses. Practitioners now have until October 2, 2023, to renew their professional and establishment licenses.
The New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy issued proposed rules that would impact clinical education, continuing education, and devices that cause percussions or vibrations.
Your massage therapy board may be in trouble! There is a recommendation to consolidate the Board of Massage Therapy with the Board of Chiropractic, the Board of Respiratory Care, and the Board of Physical and Occupational Therapy. We strongly encourage you to elevate your voice and submit comments before September 6 to show your opposition to, or support of, the massage therapy board consolidation proposal.
The Alabama Board of Massage Therapy (Board) is proposing new rules that affect multiple sections. It’s time to advocate and help shape the massage therapy profession in your state—submit comments to the Board before September 4.
Any person licensed to perform massage and bodywork therapies may block out their home address if it appears on their license.
The West Virginia Massage Therapy Licensing Board (Board) adopted new licensing requirements that increase minimum training hours to 625 from 500 hours. The Board also adopted new massage establishment licensure rules and fees; all massage establishments must be licensed by October 1, 2023.
The Montana legislature adopted House Bill 87, which creates one general law for all licensing boards to follow to unify board standards. The bill explains a board’s function and outlines appointment terms and qualifications, board meetings, and member compensation.
Licensees must earn one hour of CE in in domestic violence and sexual assault awareness education.
Approved online courses may be used to meet the 12-hour hands-on technique requirement, which means all continuing education may be completed online for this renewal period.