If you have already received your license, you may disregard this message.
It is illegal to practice massage therapy in Montana without having a state license. Most massage therapists have already applied for and received their license. However, if you were delaying the process for some reason, perhaps you have not been practicing, or you’re taking a break for some other reason, please be advised that the “grandfathering provision” is expiring soon.
On July 1, 2012, Montana will stop issuing massage licenses under the state law’s grandfathering provision. If you wish to obtain your license under the grandfathering provision, you must act before July 1, 2012. The grandfathering application is the quickest and easiest way to become licensed. Applications can be found at www.massagetherapists.mt.gov.
The grandfathering application consists of four parts, listed below:
- Submit a completed application and application/license fee of $130.00 (check or money order payable to the Montana Board of Massage Therapy).
- Submit documentation that the applicant was at least 18 years of age as of 7/1/2010. A copy of a driver’s license or birth certificate is acceptable.
- Provide a notarized affidavit stating that the applicant engaged in the practice of massage therapy for at least 100 hours in Montana on or before 7/1/2010 and prior to application. A form is provided in the application packet for your use.
- Provide two letters attesting to the good moral character of the applicant sent directly to the board office by individuals who are not family members (your employer or clients are good choices). A form is provided in the application packet for your use and may be copied as many times as needed.
You will personally be submitting the application, one affidavit document, and the fee. Letters attesting to moral character will be sent to the board office by the individuals you ask to provide them. You may choose to provide individuals attesting to your moral character a postage paid envelope already addressed to the board to make it as easy as possible for them.
As always, ABMP will make licensure information available at www.abmp.com.
Specific questions should be directed to the board:
After July 1, 2012, the licensing qualifications will change and applicants will have to have completed a minimum 500 hour education program and pass an exam.